Leave A Review

Required field

How do you rate us?
A subject line for your testimonial.
What do you think about us?
What is your full name?
What is your email?
Would you like to include a photo of yourself?

  • trevor b. Avatar
    trevor b.

    Dr Heiland and staff are the best! I remember
    when Kami was Dr Heiland MA! Dr Heiland save my life in 2001 from a cholesteatoma. I like the audioligists on staff.
    - 4/17/2021

  • Jan G. Avatar
    Jan G.

    5 star rating I had my annual ENT appointment today 3/31/21 and I wanted to share what a positive experience it always is. The 2 women at the front desk are always pleasant and professional. Dr. MacKechnie is very thorough and caring and I always look forward to meeting with Debra Hamila, my Audiologist. I have been a patient for over 4 years and cannot say enough about this caring, professional staff.Janet G., Scottsdale - 3/31/2021

  • Bill H. Avatar
    Bill H.

    Doctor Heiland has been my ear nose and throat physician for 21 years since March of 2000. At that time I was diagnosed with stage 3 advanced squamous cancer of the neck and base of tongue. His aggressive treatment is the main reason that I am alive today
    Without his professional and knowledgeable treatment of my cancer I would have died many years ago
    His bedside manner is as.good as it gets. I'm grateful he has been my doctor
    Bill.Hare Cave Creek AZ
    - 3/03/2021

  • Bill H. Avatar
    Bill H.

    5 star rating D.Heiland has been my ear nose and throat physician for 21 years since March of 2000. At that time I was diagnosed with stage 3 advanced squamous cancer of the neck and base of tongue. His aggressive treatment is the main reason that I am alive todayWithout his professional and knowledgeable treatment of my cancer I would have died many years agoHis bedside manner is as.good as it gets. I'm grateful he has been my doctorBill.Hare Cave Creek AZ - 3/03/2021

  • Darwin B. Avatar
    Darwin B.

    Such a great staff here, hard to find a Christian based office now days. They were so kind to my wife who has a formal of vertigo that on 5% of people get. - 1/30/2021

  • Dan B. Avatar
    Dan B.

    5 star rating I have been here as a patient for nearly 5 years, and they are wonderful to work with. The staff is very careful these days with all patients to ensure there is minimal contact and patients are treated with professionalism and respect. I highly recommend this office! - 1/19/2021

  • Nora W. Avatar
    Nora W.

    5 star rating I have been going to Scottsdale ENT for years. Originally I was referred to Dr Heiland. He's an amazing doctor... But he does book up fast, so when I had a issue that I could not wait for him I discovered Dr MACKECHNIE! She is amazing and also very through. I have never had any trouble with the front office. Like All doctors offices they can sometimes get busy, but when I've had an emergency they've always made room for me to get seen. - 1/19/2021

  • William S. Avatar
    William S.

    5 star rating Came here after suffering ear syndrome in another state and got seen pretty quickly. Dr and the practioner were very thorough and professional. I also had follow up hearing tests which revealed my diagnoses. The Dr. Also suggested I get a full blood work up from other symptoms that I was exhibiting during my exam. I went back to my regular Dr and had a full blood work up that I would not have had competed if not for the recommendation of Dr. Heiland. I was later admitted to the hospital for further testing and diagnosed with an auto-immune syndrome. I also had excellent follow up appointments at this clinic and my ear issues are almost 100% back to normal. Would recommend thi clinic for any ear nose and throat issues. - 1/18/2021

  • Yvonne P. Avatar
    Yvonne P.

    5 star rating I highly recommend Scottsdale Ear, Nose & Throat. First off, upon arrival, your temperature is taken and distancing in the waiting room is followed. Any staff you come into contact with are friendly and knowledgeable. Waiting time for your appointment is minimal and any required pre testing that can be performed onsite is very thorough and completed by a friendly, knowledgeable professional staff member. The Otolaryngologist I saw, Dr. Kurt Heiland, for throat and ears quickly became a favorite doctor. He was not only kind and gentle, but he performed testing on his own to confirm pre testing results. I was one of the luckier patients. I required no further procedures for my throat or ears. However, I would have been comfortable following any of Dr. Heiland's recommendations . I did purchase a great book he recommended for acid reflux. As previously stated, I highly recommend Scottsdale Ear, Nose & Throat for any and all your ENT needs. - 1/18/2021

  • Deanna J. Avatar
    Deanna J.

    5 star rating From the front desk to the assistants to Dr Heiland, everyone is so caring and kind. My choice for anything ENT. - 1/18/2021

You don’t realise you’re walking with a rock in your shoe until you’re able to hear again – Regina’s Story

Regina has suffered from hearing problems since she was an infant, recognized as regular chronic ear infections. And, as with unfortunate events, she has experienced a multitude of audiology catastrophes.

It was many years before Regina crossed paths with Scottsdale Ear, Nose & Throat; where her lifetime of hearing problems was addressed effectively and treated with the delicate care that she desperately required.

Regina’s journey began when she was taken to a regular paediatrician by her mother from a young age. Her ears were, what we describe as an audiologists recipe for disaster, ‘flushed out’.

This dangerous procedure caused a nasty infection, which spread to her mastoid bone and, at the age of 15, she underwent a tympanoplasty mastoidectomy to stop the infection spreading. This only forbade her future struggles with hearing loss. 

As with poor diagnosis, Regina was faced with another canaloplasty which didn’t work. Soon after, she received a BAHA, which is a cochlear implant in her skull that acts as a sound processor that detects sound and transforms it into vibrations. 

However, suffering from a history of poor hearing care, she was unaware of the former issues her ear presented.

By now, this would be described as any audiologists nightmare. But, we’re proud to have helped Regina on her road to optimum hearing and reconnect her to her loved ones.

When she arrived at Scottsdale Ear, Nose & Throat it was evident that she was losing hearing on her right side. At this point, she was fitted with a ReSound hearing device, which provided the catalyst to a new and improved hearing.

The first thing Regina noticed was the indefinite sound she had been making whilst emptying the dishwasher, completely unaware of the noise she was making!

“I mean, the detail that I can hear now it’s like, Whoa, I didn’t realize I was making that much noise. I need to be quieter!”

Treated with professional care, Regina received a comprehensive hearing assessment with Dr. Debra Hamila.

“I just love, love, love Dr. Hamila, she is such a professional and loving person. I was so impressed with the office and what she did with the ReSound, I just love her.”

Like many others, it takes years for people to realize they have a hearing problem. Regina described this moment as life-changing.

“You don’t realise you’re walking with a rock in your shoe until you’re able to hear again. Especially now I’m a full-time Grammy Nanny, I can hear so much more and it has enriched my life incredibly.”

What advice would you give to someone who is deliberating on taking the first step towards better hearing?

“My advice to them would be to have a hearing test. Especially as we age our hearing goes down. It’s really unfortunate that people carry their pride and are not willing to learn to walk with the rock in their shoe. You don’t realise you’re waking with a rock in your shoe until you’re able to hear again.”

Regina is one of many patients who has been impacted by our audiological services and we are proud to have been able to provide the tool towards better hearing and a lifetime of many more memories.